4C 65 61 72 6E 48 65 78 61 64 65 63 69 6D 61 6C

Learn Hexadecimal

Bears still Catholic; Pope still shitting in woods

with 8 comments

And people who moderate comments on their blogs and don’t bother reading posts that disagree with them (but do bother mocking them anyway) are still declining to approve comments that clearly demonstrate how full of shit they are.

Please be warned that in many of the above links, and in this post, there is some discussion of rape.

For the record, here’s the full text (well, nearly)* of the latest comment I fired off into the void over at Male Chauvinist Woman’s blog, which still hasn’t appeared there so far.

Update: Well, shit on me. Apparently I’ve been banned from this model citizen’s blog for endangering women. No wonder my comment didn’t show up.

I’ve got some things to say about that, but they probably belong in that second post I said I’d make.

You know, I’m starting to be swayed by the theory that you’re a troll.

But sure, if you want to play the evidence game, by all means let us consider the facts:

“Feminists need to separate sex from rape because that’s the only way they can defend women’s “right” to sashay around in provocative clothing, including late at night in bad neighborhoods. Does a woman who does that deserve to get raped? Absolutely not.”

Two paragraphs later, “Basically, feminists want women relieved of all responsibility. They tell women they have a “right” to do foolhardy things, then insist that there’s no connection between, say, provocative clothing and rape.”

So yes: you claim not to believe that women who wear sexy clothes deserve to be raped, yet you imply that they should take responsibility for being raped if they were wearing sexy clothes at the time. Pick one. Preferably the first, but I’m not gonna get my hopes up.

Regarding conversations, you posted clear responses to my statements three times in the same twenty-four hours: July 8, 10:41 PM, July 9, 12:13 PM, and July 9, 3:19 PM. Are you going to argue that any of those three posts was unrelated to me, or are you going to argue that you didn’t heavily imply that you believe you and I are not having a conversation?

If it shows up, it will show up as a response to the comment linked under “full of shit” above, but I’m not holding my breath. I gave it about a day, and it hasn’t shown up so far, although several other comments have. Some of them are addressed to me. I would be delighted to answer them. I believe I will do so, in fact, in a separate post.

I’m not going back to MCW’s blog, because she has demonstrated that she exerts a level of control over discussions in her space with which I am not comfortable, i.e. if people offer evidence that she’s wrong she quietly denies publication to their comments. Charming. Pursuant to that, I hereby resolve to set up a comment policy today. Transparency and unrestricted communication are some of my favourite things, right after snow, apple pie, and giant robots fighting in space.

*There was also a notice at the end about potential duplicate comments, because I had to write the comment twice on account of how Blogger’s preview function is aggressively broken, but I foolishly didn’t save that part before posting.

Written by Learn Hexadecimal

July 10, 2009 at 6:58 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m honestly wondering what kind of alternate reality MCW lives in that a woman laying in the same bed as her SO is definitely going to get a penis in her whether she wants to or not. Do heterosexual married couples in MCW’s world sleep in separate beds on nights when they’re not up for sex or are there no nights like that because the husband is always entitled to sex with his wife?

    Transparency and unrestricted communication are some of my favourite things

    There is sometimes value in moderating comments if you have aggressive trolls trying to derail a conversation into personal insults.

    LostMarbles

    July 10, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    • I remain confident in my ability to shout louder than any troll in the neighbourhood, and I have crafted my comment policy to reflect this.

      Learn Hexadecimal

      July 10, 2009 at 8:38 pm

      • Sometimes it’s useless to shout a troll down and at the same time difficult to ignore said troll.

        LostMarbles

        July 10, 2009 at 10:19 pm

      • Point taken (urgh, limited commment nesting levels), but I still tend to vastly prefer pointing out a comment’s shortcomings over deleting it. I may eventually revise the policy to exclude blatant trolling from the definition of “human attempting to communicate with other humans”, but only if I have to.

        Learn Hexadecimal

        July 10, 2009 at 10:22 pm

      • I go with the following school of moderation: I won’t censor you for your ideas, but I will censor you for repeatedly displaying an unwillingness to communicate. You remember the one comment I kept in moderation and why I did so.

        LostMarbles

        July 11, 2009 at 5:07 am

      • Hmmmm. Point taken again, but I still don’t think I’ll make it explicit until circumstances force me to do so.

        Learn Hexadecimal

        July 11, 2009 at 10:38 am

  2. Make commentors pass the Turing test first.

    Toaster

    July 11, 2009 at 4:29 am

    • I like the way you think.

      Learn Hexadecimal

      July 11, 2009 at 10:30 am


Leave a Reply

